reality check

I wake at 5:00 a.m. put my ten loaves of homemade bread in the oven to bake. Grab a cup of coffee have my morning quiet time (Bible reading and prayer), walk a mile. I then cook a big breakfast of eggs, bacon and pancakes. The children all come downstairs dressed, hair combed, smiling and ready for school to begin all by 7:00 in the morning. Let’s get real!

That is a dream world that I sometimes think about. Do you have one of those too? Oh, if life were just like this or that everything would be so perfect. I have known people who get so obsessed with their little dream world that they cannot be content with where they are now. I am not saying it is wrong to have dreams, and to strive to be more than we are, but let’s face it some things are just going to stay a fantasy like my above scenario. I am not going to get up at five. I can barely get out of bed at 7:00. :) I need to walk that mile, but right now that isn’t going to happen. Eventually, I will work that in to my reality, but not with a newborn. When I only had a few children, and depending on their ages it was easier to get up before they did and have bible reading. That is something I would really like to get back to. But, with a new baby it’s just not reality. So I am not going to beat myself up about it. We go through different seasons during our lives. Just like spring, summer, fall and winter all look and feel different so do the seasons of our lives. I have to rest in the season that I am in and enjoy it for all it has to offer.

With that said here is the real day.

7:00 ish I wake with the three year old in my face saying I want something to eat. I stumble to the kitchen turn on the coffee and ask which cereal do you guys want today. Around 8:00 I realize I haven’t seen one of my children yet so I yell downstairs are you up . If not you have 30 minutes until we start school. I hear a muffled yes I am up. That means I am now awake because I heard you yell. During this time I grab a shower, throw a load of clothes in the washer and answer a couple of emails.

9:00 ish We start school. I usually start with one child at a time. I call the first one down explain their work then on to the next child. They have an order that they do their subjects in. By 10:00 everyone has been called down to do school. So at this point I am usually walking back and forth helping who ever needs it. I am also doing more laundry and dumping the dry clothes, towels and sheets on my bed for folding later in the day.

At 10:30 ish we all do language arts together.

This will take us up to lunch.

11:45 ish We break for lunch. I will usually answer a few more email. Type a line or two into a draft for my blog :)

1:00 ish We finish up our school work. At some point during the day we work on our Bible notebooks. Those who are done with their work go off to play. During these times I am also changing diapers, nursing a baby, picking up toys that I am stepping on, barking a few orders to my kids about not leaving their stuff on the floor. Yelling at them not to yell :) someone is still doing school. Fold the clothes that are piling up on my bed. :)

3:00 ish Have my quiet time if I didn’t have time to have it right after lunch.

Around 4:00 ish On Mon and Wed. I take my oldest to Algebra class. On Thursday I take both older girls to dance. All 8 must be loaded in the van to make this trip. There is sometimes a trip to the public library if we can fit it in.

5:00 start supper if it is not in crock pot eat about 5:45 ish

6: 15 pick up daughter from Algebra on Mon. and Wed.

7:00 depends on what is going on that week. It could be a meeting, small group, ballgame, running errands etc.

8:00 start the bath routine

8:45 on Thurs. pick up older girls from dance.

9:00 About three nights a week we have family devotion time with the children.

9: 15 little ones in bed. Remember, this is the reality bedtime in my dream world is 8:00 p.m.

9:30 The older girls usually have some computer time.

10:00 they head to bed. A little after that I check my email, finish my blog and do any church work on the computer I need to finish up. Maybe catch a show on TV. I am a CSI and 24 fan.

I make sure the house is picked up before I go to bed. I can’t stand waking up to a messy house. I put on the coffee. Nurse the baby put her down for bed and crash about 11:30 all to start over tomorrow :)

There is so much more than this that happens, but I can’t remember them all right now. Suffice to say there are lots of hugs, kisses, boo-boos, band-aids, playing, herding, disciplining, working, chores, and moments when the bathroom is my only haven. Then there are the non-typical days…but we won’t go into that! :)

My motto now is live in reality. As the wife of a church planter/pastor and mom of eight, this has set me free. I find I am happier and more content with where God has me if I am not dreaming of something I am not.

Not that I speak from want for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am.” Philippians 4:11

6 responses

  1. What you don’t wake up at five every morning and make bread for the day?! I am so disappointed!: ) Just Kidding!
    …”living in reality”…..you are so wise!

    August 24, 2007 at 4:33 pm

  2. Hi Kim!

    Oh my goodness! I read the opening paragraph and I thought, “She is putting me to shame!” I was feeling like such an underachiever! LOL!

    When I got to your next paragraph, I laughed so hard! Thank you, thank you, thank you for being a mom more like me!

    And you know I learned this summer, that family vacations are not a vacation for mom! Being a mom never seems to stop, we are on call 24/7/365 1/4 days a year for a lifetime!

    May the Lord bless you and your family dear sister!

    August 25, 2007 at 9:59 pm

  3. That was great. I am known to have unrealistic expectations at times. God is really teaching me to be content in all things and circumstances.

    August 26, 2007 at 9:17 pm

  4. scrabblenut

    Thanks for this post, Kim. I’ve been thinking about it all week.

    August 29, 2007 at 10:38 am

  5. I still love this post. Thanks for linking on heartofwisdom so I could read it again :)

    August 21, 2009 at 8:06 am

  6. Pingback: A summer in the life of a mom whose oldest just got married… » Habits for a Happy Home

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,117 other followers