Back to the upstairs

This year for the first time I was able to move all my school stuff to the downstairs and create a wonderful schoolroom, but it is missing one thing, heat. We have a few electric heaters, but not enough to keep the back schoolroom warm, so we are back to the upstairs for now, and I think I kind of like it. It is familiar; it is what I have done for 14 years. There is just something about schooling around the kitchen table, or relaxing in the worn, comfy recliner while listening to the little ones read. I am sure, as the days warm up we will make our way back downstairs. It does have its advantages, but for now I am enjoying being back at upstairs.

So, I thought I would share a few pictures of our day


Of course, no day would be complete without someone not wanting to do some part of their school work. I tried to catch the angry face. :)

So, to make sure I got the message she wasn't really happy with how her day was going. She decided to express her feelings in her language lesson. :)

8 responses

  1. Kim A.

    Oh, thank you soooo much for sharing the little girl who didn’t want to do her schoolwork! We ARE normal!!! My kids are NOT monsters!!! No one else has a perfect day, either!

    January 25, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    • No perfect school days around here, but fun anyway. :)

      January 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm

  2. Kendra

    I love having school at the kitchen table. It definitely has some disadvantages, especially when it comes to big projects, but I find that it is actually good for me. It forces me to not procrastinate putting things away. And being in the main part of the house keeps me from feeling like a caged animal by the end of the day :)

    January 26, 2011 at 11:14 am

  3. These are the kind of posts I love and are so fond to look back on in years to come. Capturing the day in words and pictures! And you got your photo across the top!! Absolutely love it. And this new look.

    January 26, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    • Thanks! all props go to Kendra for helping me with the header. :)

      January 26, 2011 at 12:48 pm

  4. This is the same way I am feeling about our school room. It is COLD down there =) We’ve been doing it more upstairs than down stairs. I don’t know if I should change it or just go back and forth. Thanks for sharing!

    January 26, 2011 at 2:49 pm

  5. We use Teaching Textbooks, my younger daughter loves the Junie B. Jones books (so do the rest of us, to tell you the truth!), and every day at least one child has to protest about doing his or her school work. Isn’t it amazing how similar we homeschool families can be?!

    I absolutely enjoyed my first visit to your blog. Thanks for making me smile today! :D

    February 2, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,117 other followers