Two youth camps really?

Yes, my teens if any way possible attend two youth camps during the summer.  The first one is our own church youth camp. They have a blast, have excellent bible teaching,  go rafting down the Ocoee river, tubing on the lake, canoeing  and unplug from electronics and cell phones for a whole week. It is a great experience and they love every minute of it, so why do I send them to another camp…

because they are the preacher’s kids.

You know I love our church and I really don’t think being the preacher’s kid is as big of an issue at our church as it is at some.

However, let’s face it adults and other kids are watching them to see what they do and how they handle situations. There can be a lot of pressure and expectation put on a minister’s child, so the least I can do, as the parent is to give them a camp experience where they are just another kid. A place where they can worship, make spiritual decisions without anyone watching or feeling pressure to do something because it is expected. I want them to learn to love and worship God because they want to not because they feel like it is the expected thing to do.

I will admit it is a little scary for them to go somewhere the first time and not know anyone. Sometimes I get a little push back, but I am the parent and sometimes I know better than they do what they need.

As my teens have attended these camps over the last several years, I have seen them make new friends, grow in the Word, in the area of leadership and always beg to go back the next year.

It has been a blessing to this ministry family, and something I hope we will be able to continue doing for each of our children as they reach their teen years.

6 responses

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this info!

    June 28, 2011 at 11:15 am

  2. Terri Levine

    Kim, I certainly understand this pressure. I, too, am a preacher’s kid! Sometimes this is hard to deal with especially as a teenager! I think what you are doing by giving them the extra time to just be a kid out of the spotlight is wonderful!

    June 28, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    • Thanks so much, Terri for the comment and encouragement.

      June 28, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  3. susan Barber

    Thanks to the generosity of the Cathy family, Brooke just got back from Winshape today.

    July 1, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    • I’ve heard great things about that camp, so glad she got to go.

      July 2, 2011 at 7:43 am

  4. Great post! Thanks for sharing!~~ from another preacher’s Kid =)

    July 6, 2011 at 9:42 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,117 other followers